Taking the Nation by Storm

I’ve been submitting papers competitively to our regional conference for quite sometime. In fact, I just attended my third regional conference, you remember I got a top paper there right? But there comes a time when a scholar is ready to jump into the national spotlight, and that’s just what I did.

I submitted my first panel to our national conference, and it was accepted! Now, I haven’t written the paper yet mind you, and I’m a little worried about that, but regardless I’ll be presenting it this fall! I have to admit I’m less than excited about the prospect. This is a larger conference, and although I’m not worried about speaking in front of people, I always worry that I actually have no idea what I’m talking about. Clearly at some point someone will call me out as the academic fraud I am!

The thrill for me is always in the submission and the acceptance. After that I lose interest. You know how it is.

Leave a comment